2015 – Biblical and Faith Based movies due out this coming year

2014 is coming to a close.  It was suppose to be the year that the Bible would rule the movie screens.  It was dubbed “The Year of the Bible.” I for one was excited, but unfortunately it didn’t pan out that way.  It seemed ok at first, independent Christian films did better in the boxoffice then they have ever done before.  Son of God and God’s Not Dead both grossed more than any other Christian film, if you don’t count The Passion of the Christ since that had Mel Gibson doing the pushing behind that, both had final numbers around $60 Million, not bad.  It was surly a greater feat for God’s Not Dead which was made for only $2 Million dollars.  Then came Heaven is For Real, just when you thought Christian movies couldn’t be topped this year, it goes and grosses over $91 Million! What did these films have in common? They were all made by people who believed in the message and theme of the movie.  Next came Hollywood’s attempt to make some money in this bracket.  Noah was certainly not a flop grossing a total of $362 Million worldwide.  Only $101 Million in the US which was disappointing to the studio, but money is money and they don’t care where it comes from.  Exodus, on the other hand is most certainly a flop, this big budget, big studio movie looks like it will have trouble topping God’s Not Dead and even if it does, it will register a significant financial loss for Fox.  With the way the Year of the Bible ended one might wonder if 2015 will see any Biblical or Christian entertainment.  Well, the answer is, yes! Below I will list what Bible or faith based entertainment we have to look forward to in 2015!

On TV

March 31, 2015 – Dovekeepers – This is a miniseries based on a book which is being produced by Mark Burnett and his wife Roma Downey, the producers of The Bible miniseries.

April 5, 2015 – A.D. : Beyond the Bible – Mark Burnett and Roma Downey are going to have a busy year in 2015 as they will bring the events after the death of Jesus to life in another 12 hour miniseries.  That’s not the last time we will see them on this list.

Films About Faith

March 20,  2015 – Do You Believe? –  From the independent studio and the writers that brought you God’s Not Dead and the director who brought you nothing… because this is his first time directing.  Pure Flix tries to recapture the success they had in God’s Not Dead.

February 27, 2015 – Little Boy – Also from producers Mark Burnett and Roma Downey, this is a film I am very excited for.  If you have not seen the trailer, look it up! This movie looks well done and it has Kevin James in it!  From what I can tell the film is going to focus on faith in general rather than focus on Christianity but it does look like the faith is set in a Christian context.

Biblical Films

April 2015 – Mary – This is being called the official prequel to The Passion of the Christ.  It was titled Mary: Mother of Christ but has since simplified its name.  One of the producers listed on the film is Joel Osteen and regardless of how you feel about him it does say that someone connected to the film believes in it.  I do not have near as high of hopes for this film as I did for The Passion of the Christ because few directors can match Mel Gibson’s eye and talent.

2015 – Clavius – This film does not have a specific release date and is not as far along as one might hope for an Easter release date but I still have hope.  This film was at one point called Resurrection.  It is about a Roman investigation into the disappearance of the Body of a religious leader, Jesus.  I think the premise sounds good and I can tell you that if you are concerned about how they will portray it I can tell you that it would not benefit them or even make for a good story if it ends with “Oh yeah, he really didn’t come back from the dead” so I am confident this movie will at least be tolerable in it’s portrayal of Jesus.  Another reason I am excited for this film, it is being directed by Kevin Reynolds, the director of my current favorite movie of all time The Count of Monte Cristo.

There may be more that I do not know about, and I will make sure to update any readers I might have if I hear of other films but the faith based movies will continue and I hope that they continue upward.  More movies are slated in 2016 and beyond, I will highlight those at another time.  Grace and Peace to you from our Heavenly Father.

4 thoughts on “2015 – Biblical and Faith Based movies due out this coming year

  1. This is great Kevin. I’m so glad you started a blog on this. I’d be interested in hearing what you thought of God’s Not Dead. I have to say, I really didn’t like it. As in half-star out of five didn’t like it. It was so unrealistic, pretentious and made no bones about stereotyping. Heaven Is For Real was decent for a Christian movie. The best part of it was watching it with my daughter who read the book. She was able to give input on comparing it with the source.

    Like

    • Troy, I have not decided if I am going to upload old reviews I have done to this. I think I am just going to keep it current for now. However, I will respond here as to my opinion on God’s Not Dead. I agree that it is pretentious and unrealistic, however, I see some positive things in it. Personally I wouldn’t give it a half star… although when it comes to Christian films I have trouble assigning “stars.” Here are the positive things about the film. It was Unrealistic but not AS unrealistic as independent Christian movies have been in the past. It was indeed pretentious but not AS pretentious as independent Christian movies have been in the past. I honestly am giving this movie some grace because I truly believe we will look back on it as a pivotal point in faith based movies. It was the first time that a independent Christian studio spent a respectable amount of money and got rewarded for it. It cost $2 Million to make, most independent Christian films don’t even spend a million. It successfully marketed itself to the target audience via Christian Music Festivals. This was so successful that I hope other Christian studios take note. the big studios took note, they marketed Noah that way and it paid off in the first week, until word of mouth killed it. It actually had some tolerable acting… don’t get me wrong, it has some horrendous acting too… but Kevin Sorbo actually elevated the film a bit.. I do mean a bit… but I will give credit where credit is due.

      Now, I am nervous about the future. I do believe this film could be pivotal but I also feel they can be lazy. They could say, we made a ton of money, why raise our standards any more, we can make out pretty well right here. The reason I pointed out in the above comment regarding the director of Do You Believe? Is because the studio made enough money to get actual talent, but instead, they give this movie to an inexperienced person who I reluctantly referred to as a director…. I don’t know if he even knows what he is doing, because he hasn’t done anything yet. I haven’t even found a music video or a commercial that he has directed yet. They get the same writers as God’s Not Dead instead of finding other talent, I would even feel better if they found someone to polish up the script if they wanted to keep it in house, but no sign of that yet. I do not know when this movie went into production, it is possible that they began this movie before there success, but usually films like this can be made in a year. If it is true they started before the success of God’s Not Dead then I better see major improvement in the next film.

      One of the reasons I started this blog is so that I can spur my readers to expect more from these movies now that real money is being spent on them. For example, God’s Not Dead did indeed cost 2 million… for comparison, that is about the cost of every episode of Breaking Bad or about the cost of the movie The Purge. When you put it into context like that, really, we should see more quality then we did… but… It is still and improvement and I hope we will see an upward trajectory in the quality of these films… especially the films coming out of Pure Flix.

      Like

  2. Yeah that’s definitely a different investment/earning for a Christian movie, and it’s nice to see them putting that kind of money out and making good money from it as well. Something I hope that comes of it too is movies made by Christians that aren’t just solely for the purpose of gaining converts or showing the world why Christianity is right and no one else is. I’m not convinced that message is doing any good. It’s kind of a preaching to the choir thing which means Christians being the ones pouring in the revenue. It would be awesome to see a good Corrie Ten Boom or Mother Teresa biopic or even some fiction ones that have the artistic and cultural power that Gladiator, Forrest Gump and Schindler’s List have.

    I still give it a half star. UGH! 😉

    Like

    • Troy, I completely agree! The best way to go would be a biopic, personally I’d like to see a St. Nicholas biopic, or find a good selling novel and adapt that (preferably not an end times novel)… I intend to write a blog about what I think would be good ideas.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

