DAVID AND GOLIATH (2015) TRAILER: MY REACTION

In my post about Biblical and faith based movies coming out in 2015, I forgot to add David and Goliath so for my first official blog of the new year I would like to correct that. You see, I have been following this film for quite some time now.  The director of this film, Timothy Chey, seems to have the education and resume to pull off something special.   So far nothing on his list of movies he has directed have been anything special but one could argue that it was financing that stood in his way, not actual talent. So when I heard he was planning on doing a big budget David and Goliath movie I was excited! My excitement was only added to when I heard that the budget would be around $50 Million dollars.  Somehow it slipped by me that production had already started and was completed and has now entered post-production.  I was completely surprised when I recently discovered that the trailer for the movie had been released a month ago and somehow I missed it.  These are the type of things I like to be aware of, and since I had been following this movie from its first announcement it is beyond me how I missed all this.  This post is going to be a little different than most.  I am going to put time markers in the post and then tell you how I reacted at those moments, then at the end I will post the trailer so you can then go and see what I was talking about.  So lets begin!

0:04 – a motion digital logo! It always adds a little class this already has potential!

0:08 – BEAUTIFUL SHOT! Oh man I can’t wait!

0:13- YES! YES! YES! THIS IS GOING TO BE THE CHRISTIAN MADE BIBLICAL FILM I ALWAYS WANTED!

0:19 – Ok, well, costumes didn’t really work in that shot but I can look past it.

0:26 – oh no… with one second of footage all of my hopes have been crushed… couldn’t they at least straighten his helmet?

0:47 – what a completely horrendous shot! It invokes laugher… it really does…

0:48 – That looks like me and my brother playing around in the back yard.

0:55 – Seriously… if Exodus was being accused of “White Washing” how is this going to go?

1:00 – This has turned into something that looks like a church play production.

1:12 – Did you really just mess with the colors because you can?

1:17 – See, if the rest just looked like this I would be ok… but it doesn’t

1:21 – Really? You think that scene worked? You didn’t by any chance want to go reshoot it? Maybe a better angle?

1:26 – $50 Million? You couldn’t possibly have spent $50 Million….

1:36 – he’s trying so hard… but… (sigh)

After watching this trailer, a trailer I have actually looked forward to, dreamed about, I was utterly crushed.  I really feel like crying.  This was suppose to have a budget of $50 Million! Did it? My prayer has now gone from “I hope it is good” to “I hope to find out they actually didn’t spend $50 Million. If they did spend $50 Million, then I don’t even know what to say.  To think of all the other projects out there that could have benefited from that money. To give you a little perspective on this.  The Passion of the Christ was $30 Million.  The entire first season of Vikings was $40 Million.  You get it? If it indeed was $50 Million, then they did a horrible job! Quality should have been much better.  And apparently the money they did spend on this movie didn’t even include promotion and such because they are asking for donors right now.  This is why Christian movies get a bad rap.  Here is a perfect example of the problem not being the budget, rather the talent.  I am sorry to be so harsh but when people get my hopes up that high and then smash them like this I get grumpy.  See for yourself, watch the trailer below and let me know what you think. Am I being too harsh?

One thought on “DAVID AND GOLIATH (2015) TRAILER: MY REACTION

Leave a Reply

