UPCOMING: Christian Adventure movie! Beyond the Mask (Trailer included)

Today’s post was originally suppose to be a review of the movie Pendragon: Sword of His Father.  It was a Christian Fantasy Adventure movie that came out in 2008.  If you read some Christian reviews on-line about this movie you will read such things as “Lord of the Rings quality” and other such non-sense!  I promise you, I never for one minute believed those reviews but I did want to see how they did.  Instead of trying to look at it and measure it up against The Lord of the Rings, a standard it had no hope of living up too.  I wanted to see how they did with the budget they actually had. From what I could find Pendragon had the budget of $50,000 dollars.  Already you can tell not to expect Lord of the Rings level quality which had a budget north of $100,000,000.  There is a pretty large gap between those two numbers.  It was also made by Burns Family Studios.  Basically Burns Family Studios is a home school Christian family that decided that there was not enough Christian movies that where of the genre they liked, Adventure.  I can sympathize, this would be my favorite genre and the genre I would strive for if I had the recourses to make a movie.  Almost all of the technical stuff was done by family members, and most of the acting.   Basically what Pendragon is, is what if you and your family made a movie.  When put into those terms, I can say Pendragon was impressive and much better then most families could put together.

Unfortunately I am not really reviewing Pendragon here, because I did not make it all the way through.  The quality was just too poor.  The acting too armature and the story too slow but the whole reason I was about to review a movie from 2008 was because I wanted to talk about their next film.  Yes, their first film was horrible but many directors and production companies have first movies that are not at the quality they are at now and I can say that within the mess that is Pendragon I saw potential and I saw passion.

Beyond the Mask

(Isn’t the Movie poster stunning!)

BEYOND THE MASK

For me I can look past a poor first movie if they then take that experience and cash that was gathered from the first movie and improve on it.  What would I recommend? Well, get a professional writer to write the script, hire professional actors, get professionals to help with the technical stuff and give us a product that actually lives up to what you originally sought to make with Pendragon.

Well, their next film comes out this year.  To my surprise it is being released to theaters! They have hired Paul McCusker who has written several novels and many Adventures in Odyssey episodes.  This guy has been at it a long time! They went and hired Andrew Cheney as their star (Who hasn’t done much but he is an actor), They hired Adetokumboh M’Cormack who can be seen in Captain America: Winter Soldier, Blood Diamond, Lost, and Heroes.  For their female lead they hired Kara Killmer who you can see as a current regular on Chicago Fire.  And last but certainly not least, they hired John Rhys-Davies! He is a true legend in the industry! He has appeared in such movies as Raiders of the Lost Ark, The Last Crusade, and all three Lord of the Rings movies! So really, if Adventure/Fantasy is the genre they are going for, John is a natural go to guy! They have also hired several technical professionals.  All the check points are being hit for me to think that their second film could in fact be a huge leap forward in quality! Not to mention that a Christian Movie about a Masked Hero seems right up my alley. I can tell you, if the improvement is as large as it looks like it is from the trailer (seen below) of Beyond the Mask then The Burns Family Studio is a studio to really watch out for!

Leave a Reply

